Online collections

All collections » Coins » Australia


Australian $5 Coins

1998 Royal Flying Doctor Service UNC $5


1998 marked 70 years of RFDS service to the Australian people. Through this attractive bimetallic coin, the Royal Australian Mint pays tribute to the selflessness and dedication of the staff of the Royal Flying Doctor Service - past and present - who have earned their place in Australian history.
The Royal Flying Doctor Service - originally known as the Aerial Medical Service - was established in 1928 by the Reverend John Flynn. Flynn saw the potential of post-First World War technology - in particular, aviation and wireless - to help mankind rather than contribute to its destruction, and in 1928 he founded the Aerial Medical Service (AMS) in Cloncurry. With only a small DeHavilland DH50 aircraft, the service provided medical attention to people living in remote, isolated areas. In 1942, its name was changed to the Flying Doctor Service, and the royal prefix was granted in 1955.
Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II features on the obverse.

Today, the RFDS provides medical care over an area of 7,150,000 square kilometres - 80% of the Australian continent. The fleet of aircraft fly around 82 flights, and mark up around 32,500 kilometres, every single day of the year.
The coin comes in an attractive card, with a unique Telstra phone card included.

Nominal Specifications
Denomination: $5
Metal: Centre: Al/Bronze
Outer Ring: Stainless Steel
Mass: 10.80 grams
Diameter: 28.12 mm
Reverse: Wojciech Pietranik
Obverse: Raphael Maklouf