Online collections

All collections » Coins » Australia

Australian Postal Numismatic Covers

2000 $1 UNC

Australia's First Victoria Cross

The $1 coin in this pack is dedicated to the men who have won the Victoria Cross (VC). The VC was instituted by Queen Victoria in 1856 and is the highest award that any member of Commonwealth military forces can be awarded for gallantry in the presence of the enemy.
The motto "For Valour" was personally chosen by Queen Victoria.

The stamps in this pack celebrate Australia's first VC winner, Captain Neville Howse and Australia's only living recipients of the Commonwealth military forces highest award, Sir Roden Cutler, Edward Kenna and Keith Payne, along with a reproduction of a Victoria Cross.
The information card details all 96 of Australia's VC winners.

An unknown amount of packs consisting of a specimen quality 2000 Centenary of the Australia's First Victoria Cross dollar coin and five 45 cent Victoria Cross Postage Stamps were jointly issued by Australia Post and the Royal Australian Mint, Canberra on 24th July 2000.
The postage stamps have been cancelled with a specially worded ink mark which reads 'For Valour, First day of issue 24 July 2000 Orange NSW 2800'

Nominal Specifications

Denomination: $1
Metal: Aluminum Bronze
Mass: 9.0 grams
Diameter: 25.0 mm
Reverse: Woijciech Pietranik
Obverse: Ian Rank-Broadley