Online collections


All collections  » Euro coins  »  Austria  »  Collectible 25 euro » Austrian Aviation

Coin from the niobium "Austrian Aviation" - 25 euro Austria, 2007

  Country: Austria

Denomination: 25 euro

Issue Date: February 28, 2007

Obverse: cabin of a modern passenger plane

Reverse: Austrian pilot Karl Ilner, as well as the Zanonia glider and Taube engine aircraft

Mint: Austrian Mint 

Design: Thomas Pesendorfer, Herbert Wahner




25 euroSilver (900 sample )/niobium16.50 g34.00 mm65 000Special Uncirculated



   Austria's collection coin from niobium with a face value of 25 euro was issued on February 28, 2007 and is dedicated to Austrian aviation. Minting was carried out at the Austrian mint. The circulation was 65,000 coins.

   The obverse of the 25 Euro coin depicts the cabin of a modern passenger plane. On the outer silver ring at the top is the name of the state "REPUBLIK ÖSTERREICH" in the lower part the denomination "25 EURO" is indicated, and to the right is the year of issue "2007."

   The reverse of the coin depicts the glider "Zanonia" on which the Austrian designer Franz Xaver Wels flew several hundred meters in 1907. Nearby is the more familiar Taube engine aircraft, created by the Austrian aircraft designer Igo Etrich, on which in 1910 pilot Karl Illner made the first successful flight in Austria from Wiener Neustadt to Vienna and back. At the bottom of the coin is Illner, waving from the Taube cabin just before his historical flight. The inscription "Igo Etrich" is inscribed on the aircraft. Above the entire composition in a semicircle is the inscription "LUFTFAHRT IN ÖSTERREICH" ("AVIATION IN AUSTRIA").



List of collectible coins of Austria from niobium with a face value of 25 euro:

2003 - Coin "700 Years to the City of Hull in Tyrol"

2004 - Coin "150 years of the Zemmering Railway"

2005 - Coin "50 Years of Television"

2006 - Coin "European Satellite Navigation"

2008 - Coin "Fascinating Light"

2009 - Coin "International Year of Astronomy"

2010 - Coin "Renewable Energy"

2011 - Coin "Robotics"

2012 - Bionika coin

2013 - Coin "Construction of tunnels"

2014 - Evolution Coin

2015 - Coin "Cosmology"

2016 - Coin "Time"

2017 - Coin "Microcosmos"

2018 - Antropocene Coin

2019 - Artificial Intelligence Coin

2020 - Big Data Coin